BURGUNDY'S DOP CÔTES DU COUCHOIS

Côtes du Couchois

A rich soil

With more than 3,500 domains, wine is undoubtedly Burgundy's most famous ambassador, this "Land of itinerancy", a high place of France's cultural heritage. The terroirs of this more than 2000 year-old historical region, its mysterious alchemy between soil, exposure, relief and climate, have been producing wine from four grape varieties, two of which are considered noble: Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.

Pinot Noir is a grape variety of great red wines, delicate, which produces a large number of fruits and of which the young aromas mature into an intense note. As for Chardonnay, a great white wine grape variety, it produces rich, structured, long-lasting wines with floral and fruity aromas, maturing towards mushroom, grilled hazelnut and dried fruit aromas.

The vineyards of Couchois are spread over six towns: Couches, Dracy-les-Couches, Saint-Maurice-les-Couches, Saint-Sernin du Plain, Saint-Jean de Trezy and Saint-Pierre de Varenne for a land surface of about 250 hectars.

To the south of the Maranges and Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, Couchois has seen its character recognised within the Burgundy Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée (protected designation of origin) since year 2000, which ensures not only the origin, but also the reflection of a strong link between the wine and its terroir. Our wines take their uniqueness, quality and typicity from their geographical origin and from the particular wine making methods used by each of the Couchois winegrowers.

In Burgundy, the idea of terroir brings together both environmental factors such as the nature of the soil and climatological conditions and human influences, the contribution of the man labor being a defining factor for the making of the wine. More specifically, Burgundy Côtes du Couchois is a ruby-coloured, slightly purple wine. Its fragrance suggests aromas of small red and black fruits, which then reveal themselves into forest essences. As a gourmet wine, a little rough in its early age, it will reveal itself to be an excellent long-lasting and elegant wine, which will be best appreciated after 2 or 3 years.

 

 

An outstanding wine

 

It is from this multicoloured soil - versicoloured, named after the clays that compose it - that our wines take all their character and their differences, since the Antiquity.

Our unique terroir has long remained in the shadow of its neighbours, which include some of the most attractive appellations in Burgundy - from Maranges, Mercurey or Meursault, to Santenay, Givry and other Chassagnes. However, in 2000, we took a first step into the light by being awarded to our Pinots Noirs our first AOC (protected designation of origin), the result of a long effort towards obtaining the recognition of our Pinots Noirs' typicality. Together with a handful of passionate winegrowers and traders, we then gathered together within the Union des producteurs et négociants de l'AOC Côtes du Couchois - Union of Winemakers and Traders of PDO Côtes du Couchois - (UPNCC), fully committed to promoting the treasure hidden in our lands and to obtain a 2nd AOC, this time for our whites.

If we remain persistent in our commitment, it is because we are firmly convinced that the wines of the Côtes du Couchois have every reason to be appreciated! Subtle in the beginning, but not snobbish for a penny, our reds and whites reveal themselves after a few seconds in all their fruity and floral personality, delicate and generous at the same time. Surprisingly reliable values, with an unbeatable quality-price ratio.

Today, our thousand-year-old terroir shows off all its colours and shares them: from red to white, our wines are just waiting for you!

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

AOC BOURGOGNE CÔTES DU COUCHOIS

Les Côtes du Couchois

Un sol riche

Avec plus de 3 500 domaines, le vin est sans conteste l’ambassadeur le plus célèbre de la Bourgogne, cette « Terre d’itinérance », haut lieu du patrimoine culturel de France. Les terroirs de cette région historique de plus de 2000 ans, cette mystérieuse alchimie entre sol, exposition, relief et climat, exploitent quatre cépages, dont deux sont considérés comme nobles : le Pinot Noir et le Chardonnay.

Le Pinot Noir est un cépage de grands vins rouges, délicats, qui produit un nombre important de grappillons et dont les arômes de jeunesse évoluent vers une note animale. Le Chardonnay, quant à lui, cépage de grands vins blancs, donne des vins riches, structurés, de longue garde, aux arômes floraux et fruités, évoluant avec l’âge vers des arômes de champignon, noisette grillée, fruits secs.

L’aire de production des vins du Couchois s’étend sur six communes que sont Couches, Dracy-les-Couches, Saint-Maurice-les-Couches, Saint-Sernin du Plain, Saint-Jean de Trezy et Saint-Pierre de Varenne pour une superficie totale d’environ 250 hectares.

Au sud des Maranges et des Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, le Couchois a vu sa personnalité reconnue au sein de l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée Bourgogne depuis le millésime 2000 qui garantit non seulement l’origine, mais également l’expression d’un lien fort entre le produit et son terroir. Nos vins tirent leur authenticité, leur qualité et leur typicité de leur origine géographique et des méthodes de production particulières à chacun des vignerons du Couchois.

En Bourgogne, la notion de terroir réunit à la fois des facteurs naturels comme la nature du sol et les conditions climatiques et des facteurs humains, le rôle de l’homme étant déterminant dans la production du vin. Plus particulièrement, le Bourgogne Côtes du Couchois est un vin de couleur rubis, légèrement violacé. Son bouquet suggère les petits fruits rouges et noirs, puis il s’ouvre sur le sous-bois. Gourmand, un peu rugueux dans sa jeunesse et libéré à 2 ou 3 ans, ce vin se montre d’excellente tenue et persistant.

 

 

Un vin hors du commun

 

C’est de ce sol multicolore – versicolore, du nom des argiles qui le composent – que nos vins tiennent tout leur caractère et leur différence, depuis l’Antiquité.

Notre terroir singulier est longtemps resté dans l’ombre de ses voisins, parmi lesquels figurent certaines des plus belles appellations de Bourgogne – des Maranges, Mercurey ou Meursault, aux Santenay, Givry et autres Chassagnes. Mais en 2000, nous avons fait un pas dans la lumière en obtenant une première AOC pour nos Pinots Noirs, fruit d’une longue lutte pour la reconnaissance de leur typicité. Avec une poignée de vignerons et négociants passionnés, nous nous sommes ensuite réunis au sein de l’Union des producteurs et négociants de l’AOC Côtes du Couchois (UPNCC), bien décidés à faire connaître ce trésor caché par-delà nos collines et à décrocher une deuxième AOC, pour nos blancs cette fois.

Si nous persistons à mener ce combat à bout de bras, c’est que nous sommes convaincus que les vins des Côtes du Couchois ont tout pour plaire ! Discrets au départ, mais pas snobs pour un sou, nos rouges et nos blancs se révèlent au bout de quelques secondes dans toute leur personnalité fruitée et florale, délicate et généreuse à la fois. De surprenantes valeurs sûres, au rapport qualité-prix imbattable.

Aujourd’hui, notre terroir millénaire expose toutes ses couleurs et se fait partageur : du rouge au blanc, nos vins n’attendent plus que vous !

fr_FRFrançais